• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Follow through

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to competing with a flintlock in NMLRA. Of course I'm having new shooter problems with follow through. Flinch,moving the muzzle before the ball leaved the barrel. So my question is what exactly
Is "follow through " and how to train for it? 99% of NMLRA is offhand so this is what I need to focus on.
Thanks in advance.

Follow through is the conscience effort to prevent your firearm from moving after the trigger is pulled.

When I'm target shooting, there is at least two full seconds of, conscience, follow through.

When I'm hunting, more than two seconds.

There's an old adage: If you look over your scope right after you pulled the trigger, you missed the deer. Because your hurried, anxious, mind was on killing the deer instead of following through with your shot. If you did your job correctly that dead deer will be on the ground 3, 5, 8 seconds after you pull the trigger.

Follow through is the conscience effort to prevent your firearm from moving after the trigger is pulled.

When I'm target shooting, there is at least two full seconds of, conscience, follow through.

When I'm hunting, more than two seconds.