• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Follow Up Shot

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TrueBlueYankee

36 Cal.
Reaction score
Since I'm new to muzzleloading I was wondering how you guys handle the following situation.

I'm sure there's a few of you that have had the perfect shot go astray and wound your quarry. Sometimes all the practice in the world, hard work, and skill we acquire can't take into account that unseen branch that can deflect a shot just enough, or the animal moves at the last second, and you find you've got a wounded animal to put down quickly. Fairly straightforward with a multi-shot bolt action or semi-auto rifle/shotgun, but what about a muzzleloader? Do any of you carry a Muzzleloading pistol to quickly administer a coup de grace or do you just reload your rifle as quickly as you can?

BTW, this happened to me once while hunting deer in RI with a shotgun and slugs. Just as I took my shot I had a fairly strong gust wind come up and move a sapling right into my line of fire (there is fairly heavy underbrush in RI woods). It was enough to deflect my lung shot into the leg joint of my target, but I followed up within a few seconds with a killing shot.