• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Greetings and gimme some ideas!

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shelby Skinner

36 Cal.
Reaction score
I'm a newbie to these forums but not a newbie to BP guns or flinters. My name is Jeff and I'm from the area around Louisville KY. I made my first BP gun from a CVA kit over 30 years ago and have been shooting and hunting with flintlocks and caplocks (though not exclusively) for as long. I've shot modern HP service rifle and shoot in master class. I've won a state championship when I lived out west in New Mexico and when I was in the service shot on the Army skeet team and was the Armed forces champion in A class for a couple of years.
Never have competed with a BP gun though...

My current go to front stuffer is a .50 Cal Southern poor boy flintlock rifle I made from a stock blank, Green River barrel and Siler Lock about 15 years ago.
I hand forged the trigger guard and ramrod thimbles myself. Its taken a deer just about every black powder season since I finished it.

Recently I've become enamored with the concept of a smooth bore gun and today the Big Brown truck of happiness delivered a TOW Fusil-de-Chasse kit with a 44" 20 gauge Colerain smooth bore barrel. I decided on a walnut stock and steel furniture. Though I opted for a steel Fusil-fin side plate (with the scroll work).

My thoughts on this gun are to do a traditional rust blue instead of brown. I also think the RE Davis lock as it came lock needs a lot of tuning.