• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Help identify Pennsylvania "pea" rifle

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wboas

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Folks,

I recently acquired what I'm sure is a "modern" 32 cal. long rifle with absolutely no visible marking anywhere. I have not yet disassembled it to search further. When I say "modern" I mean post 1900, of course. ;-)

I posted a webpage with photos at: www.nyx.net/~wboas/pearifle.html for your seasoned opinion.

I'm new to black powder, and looking forward to shooting it.

Thanks,
Bill

Last edited by a moderator:
Looks nice. I like the ramrod tip. Oh, and I thought I'd mention that the front sight is on backwards.

My best guestimate is a 1950's to 1960's modern build from the early days of the muzzleloading rennaisance that peaked in the early 1980's. I believe a seasoned old timer could id the lock and barrel and approximate the vintage by the make of the parts.

Have you looked on the inside of the lock plate for markings?

Removal of the lock revealed the name "Roy Keeler" and presumably this is Roy Keeler of Michigan blackpowder fame.

The rifle dates probably dates from 1950-1960s
period.

Thanks for all who looked and replied.

Very nice !
A real treasure no matter when it was made
I wish it was mine ,Tree Rats Beware!
Deutsch

Thats great info there !!!
Its nice to see that everyone helps with information like this when people are looking.