• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

How do you Harden a Frizzen ?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Michael76

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello All ,
I am new to flint locks but not muzzle loading . I fact I just ordered my first flintier from TVM last week and can't wait until it arrives. I have read on the board something about hardening the frizzen. can somebody explain this process ? and dose it need to be done to a new gun?

Thanks
SWG

Smelly Woods Guy said:
I have read on the board something about hardening the frizzen. can somebody explain this process ? and dose it need to be done to a new gun?
Hardening a frizzen is something that occasionally needs to be done with cheap/low quality production flint guns.

I seriously doubt that anyone would need to harden a frizzen on a quality gun.

Yes, you are jumping the gun on frizzen being hardened or not. All siler locks are cast by chambers and then assembled by others, with some exceptions. I have never seen one that needed it off the bat, now for others of less quality I can't say that.

I bought a rifle from Matt at TVM and within a week the flint was gouging the frizzen. I sent it back to them and they hardened it, but they didn’t bother to clean up the gouges. So I agree that with most new semi-custom flintlocks you will not have to worry about it, unless its from TVM.