• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Laoding patched ball

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rmay

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I'm still new to this, but I was hoping to get some input on some problems I encountered at the range this weekend trying to get comfortable shooting my Lyman .54 Trade Rifle. This is only the second time I've been out shooting with it, but I noticed a big difference in how the patched balls were loading down the bore. The only other time I have shot this gun was when the temps were much cooler, in the 50's. This time the temps were in the 70's. I could not believe how much more difficult it was to get the patched ball down the barrel in the warmer temp. I tried everything I could think of. At first, I just kept loading and shooting, no swabbing. After I broke my wooden ramrod, I started swabbing after every shot. No change. I could not get the ball down the bore without pounding the ramrod. Then I started to lube the bore after swabbing with bore butter. No change. Then I started putting bore butter on the patches. Still no change. I was using a .530 ball with pre-lubed .015 and .018 patches. Any idea what I might be doing wrong?
:thanks:
Russ52