• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Me and Gunter's sawn flints

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
In a way you might call this confession time even though I haven't done anything wrong. But, as a former journalist, I feel it is time to give "full disclosure" as they say.
Some may have noted that I am a fan of sawn flints. Others here refer to them as "sawn agate". Now, I do not know what kind of rock agate is, not my area of expertise. I don't know if it is a flint or what. I'm sure some of the sawn flints I have used in the past were agate but I don't know which ones were, or were not.
Here is the story: Sometime between 1970 and 1976 I purchased some sawn flints from a vendor at Friendship. I later learned they were made by Gunter Stifter of Germany. I used them and was very pleased and impressed. They sparked like fire monsters and lasted much-much longer than the knapped blacks from England.
Now, I have been a writer since 1953 (yes, folks, I am old :wink: ). I have written product reviews many times, many of them professionally. Those reviews have been on a variety of subjects. (modern guns and accessories, muzzle loading guns and supplies, woodworking tools and supplies and much more) I write it as I experience it. Good is reported good, bad is reported bad.