• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Minie Lube

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hilljack

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello to the camp...I am new to the rifled muskets and I am casting my own minies...But what I don't know is what type of lube do you use and what is the normal charge that woud be shot out of one?

Thanks for any help or information...

Hilljack

Welcome! The original lube developed by the Ordnance Dept. was an 8 to 1 Beeswax/Tallow mixture. I use Beeswax and Crisco in the same ratio. Set the bullets base down on a flat tray or plate that has handles to lift it with. Melt the lube and simply dip the tray into it going deep enough to cover the grooves. Lift out and set aside to cool. If you size your bullets, the sizer will remove the excess lube and only that in the grooves remains. This lube withstands hot weather quite well, but if it gets real hot and the lube softens, put more beeswax and less tallow/Crisco in the mix. This mixture works very well in paper cartridges, especially if you make the regulation 3 piece cartridge.