• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Muzzleloading loading stand

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sekiar

36 Cal.
Reaction score
This is my first try ad adding a photo so please don't shoot me it it's not done correctly. This is a loading stand I built out of oak to assist in loading my 32 pound .45 caliber underhammer bench rifle. I'm set up to shoot from inside my new shoot shack and needed a way to hold the gun upright for dropping the powder down the barrel and a position to clean the gun. Since the gun is very long I made the stand to tilt so the cleaning rod wound clear the ceiling.
airgunbmw430.jpg

Well actually I've not got around to shooting the rifle yet. I'm not as energetic as I once was and I've collected a number of muzzleload over the years and have several that I've not shot. I'm going to correct that asap. I have been shooting all that time with more modern guns and have let the muzzleloaders set in the safe. Being left handed my all time favorite type of muzzleloader is the underhammer of which I have several. I can still do about any thing I did in my youth, however it just takes a lot longer now even though I'm retired.

Wonderful stand and I do want to read more about your Underhammer.

. sep 23 / 2:30am

did i read that correctly ? your rifle weighs 32 pounds all by itself ?

~d~