• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

My Powder Drum Blew Out. Is My Barrel Done For?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

loud41

32 Cal
Reaction score
Hey guys!

I just had a powder drum blow out after taking my squirrel gun out to the range today. It's a .36 caliber percussion. I don't know how old it is. I'm not an expert for sure. The barrel is very lightly marked J. YOUNG, and the lock is marked STEITH (maybe? It's very difficult to see it's so worn). It is a very well used and repaired gun, but I have loved shooting it. I only ever took it to the range using light loads of 35 grains. Well today, after firing a ball down range, I went to remove the spent cap when I noticed to my horror that the powder drum was completely gone. It looks like the threads blew out. I'll post some pics below. I'd love to salvage the barrel because it's original to the stock. I'm not particularly fond of the lock. It does not have a half-cock. The set trigger is wonderful though. Anyway I guess I should consider myself lucky I never used larger loads. Is the rifle effectively a wall mount now, or can this be repaired? The hole that's left behind is rather large unfortunately.

Attachments

• 16101607575833403129457655809753.jpg
    16101607575833403129457655809753.jpg
    185.5 KB
  • 16101608126624141284388996317617.jpg
    16101608126624141284388996317617.jpg
    45.3 KB
  • 16101608567598584440560041657671.jpg
    16101608567598584440560041657671.jpg
    74.3 KB