• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

new to bp shooting

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

REX

40 Cal.
Reaction score
new old man; I've been shooting and loading since the early 1960's, and I'm thinking about moving into bp, don't have a lot to spend on a bp rifle (retired and all) but was looking at the lyman left hand deerstacker flint lock as one possible option, not much choices for us that are left handed but in our right mind in this world.
Thanks for any sugestions or thoughts on this

Rex

Well, Gramps, I don't know about the flinter, but the Lyman Deerstalker percussion in a lefthanded is a fine shooter. My son, now 14, has one. He loves it, named it Lefty, and won't even consider taking anything else deer hunting. I looked at every left handed BP rifle I could find on the web and for the money, the Lyman was the one I ordered. I don't regret it for a minute. It got the boy interested in BP and got me a hunting partner.

WestCoastBPgramps, Welcome to the camp, I'm not a lefty, but if you check the Muzzleloading links when you sign in, you'll find alot of companys that do sell muzzleloading rifles in left or right hand and flintlocks and percussion too.
Hope you enjoy your time here !!! Mtn-Man2u :)