• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Pan powder

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blowinsmoke

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I've used 7f goex in my pan since i started shooting a FL but now it seems harder to get. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using 7f and using something like 3f or 4f?

I personally prefer using 3F to prime since that's what I use in my rifle. Only have to carry one horn that way.

7Fg powder is Flash powder. It certainly lights and burns faster, but it also can be blown out of the pan with any light breeze when 4Fg and 3Fg will stay put.

When we talk about " burning faster", we are talking milliseconds, and the human ear is rarely able to hear an actual difference.

Since 4Fg powder is often difficult to find on the shelves, and a pound lasts so long, many shooters have simply begun using 3Fg powder for both their main charges in their rifles, and as the priming powder in their flash pans.

The benefit of using 3Fg for both purposes is that you only have to buy ONE powder Granulation size. You also only need to carry One powder horn( with 3Fg powder in it), when in the field. The difference between the burning speed of 3Fg and 4Fg is again too small for most human ears to hear the difference.