• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Patches for Round balls

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andy gaboric

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I am new to bp shooting and I have always wondered how do you figure out the thickness of patch to use. Do you start out with a certain size and if the gun does not like it do you then make adjustments? I know this may sound like an elementary question but I really have no idea where to start. Also I would like to make my own patches, by going to a fabric store and getting the material there but how do you know what kind to get? Anyway any advice I appericate.
Thanks,
Andy

Generally It is trial and error. As far as thickness goes I go pretty much by feel. I know what a .015 and .020 commercial patch feels like and use those as a base to guess the thickness of the cloth. A couple of guidelines are that thin pillow ticking runs about .015 where thick runs about .022. !0 oz. medium weight denim runs about .020 where heavy weight runs about .032. You can usually pick up this fabric at a local fabric store. Just make sure the fabric is 100% cotton or linen.

As far as which patch to use, that's where the trial and error come in. I like a patch/ball combination that short starts with a slap on the short starter and then goes down smoothly. When you fire the rifle try to find the patch. If it is torn up and burned through, the patch is probably too thin. Go to a thicker patch and see what happens. The patches should be intact with some fraying around the edges.