• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Rough/rusty bore

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danno123

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hi guys - I'm a newbie (which is pretty obvious from my post count). I've got an inline and I had a percussion pistol years ago but I'm just getting back into the traditional BP stuff.
I just bought a .50 Hawken from a guy. He said he had only shot it a few times. I believe him because with the rifle I got almost a full pound of Pyrodex, about 90 balls and about 90 caps, so I figure he only put about 10 round down the barrel.
I knew that there was a chance the bore was rusty from improper cleaning/storage but the guy only wanted $80 for the package and I thought I saw traces of bore butter in the bore near the muzzle, so I decided it was worth the risk.