• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Squirrel hunting with .50?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tatonka

36 Cal.
Reaction score
Does anyone squirrel hunt with a .50 caliber rifle? Since that's the only flintlock I have that's my only option. Being that I am new to traditional muzzleloading, I have never tried to do it. I am told that you can "bark" the squirrel or shoot it in the head. I'm just wondering how realistic this is.

I don't know about the regs in your state, but here in Pa. to hunt small game you have use .40cal or smaller.

Vern

OK work up a really light load that is still good to about 40 yards. 2 reasons first off you're driving tacks with a sledge hammer here and second since you will be shooting up into trees most likely, you don't want the round to carry into next week and hunt someone you never met.

If I was assured that I was in a safe place, I wouldn't hesitate. I can't tell you how many snowshoe hare I've taken with head shots using reduced loads (30-35 grains of Goex 3f or Pyrodex P) in various 50 cal rifles. And my 54, 58 and 62 cals for that matter. But elevated squirrels in an area with other people and homes nearby? Not a chance.

A rough guideline would be a load of half as much powder as your deer load with a round ball and be highly selective of your shots................watch yer top knot.............