• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

T/C New Englander loads?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jeremyc

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I am new to muzzleloading and just purchased a used T/C New Englander. The person who I was speaking to about purchasing the gun game me lots of advise. I would like to confirm the load he suggested. He sold me 50 cal, .490 round balls and said 80g of Pyrodex is his standard hunting load.

I'm going to go shoot my new (used) gun today and am very excited. I am a bow hunter and enjoy traditional methods of hunting. For guns this is obviously muzzleloading... Can't wait!

Jeremy

I am new to muzzleloading and just purchased a used T/C New Englander. The person who I was speaking to about purchasing the gun game me lots of advise. I would like to confirm the load he suggested. He sold me 50 cal, .490 round balls and said 80g of Pyrodex is his standard hunting load.

I'm going to go shoot my new (used) gun today and am very excited. I am a bow hunter and enjoy traditional methods of hunting. For guns this is obviously muzzleloading... Can't wait!

Jeremy

JC, you can call TC and they'll send you for free one of their owner's manuals which has all the load data charts in the back, different calibers, different projectiles, etc.

Looking at one right now, it shows the .50cal patched ball powder charge range is 50-110 grns of FFg blackpowder, or Pyrodex-RS which is a blackpowder FFg equivalent.