• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

What Musket and what Powder

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dukewellington

40 Cal.
Reaction score
Hey, :)
Looking for some experts to help me out.
I'm new to Muzzleloading, and I have never owned or shot a Muzzleloader before. I'm now intrested in the sport, and after years shooting shotguns and Rifles, I want to get in to the sport, as it looks, well COOL!I want to buy either a Brown bess 75cal, or prussian musket 69cal.
My questions are-Can I use shot aswell as lead balls in a smoothbore ? and can I use pyrodex, or 777 in a flinter? Any toher flintlock information would be great.

Thanks Guys,

The duke
. :wink:

Yes to shooting shot and rb in a smoothbore, and the flinters need the real stuff(BP). I'm sure the flinter boys will give you the full info :wink: Welcome to the world of smoke! :thumbsup:

Thanks,
Can pyrodex be used at all? as BP is so hard to get hold off. Some people say pyrodex can be used, other say it can't.

Thanks Guys :)

dukewellington said:
Thanks,
Can pyrodex be used at all? as BP is so hard to get hold off. Some people say pyrodex can be used, other say it can't.

Pyrodex can be used in percussion but may have ignition problems in a flintlock.
Real black powder is actually pretty easy to purchase on line through various dealers and have it delivered to your door. Take a look at our Member Resources section. There are lists of places to buy everything you might need to enjoy muzzleloading.

Welcome aboard!

HD