• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Anyone use a .58 on something REALLY big!?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
In a recent discussion with a close friend concerning blackpowder guns and elk, my buddy {a fan of heavy conicals and fast twist barrels} said my new .58 roundball gun wouldn't handle an elk. My thought is a properly loaded .570 RB used at reasonable ranges, would take anything on this continent. Of course I have no experience with anything larger than whitetail so I'll put it you all. What about practical experience with big roundball guns, specificly but not limited to a .58, on the big stuff? Elk, moose, bison, grizzlys? Where's Brown Bear when I need him?

Snow

I shot a buffalo in 2007 with my 24" bbl Parker-Hale Musketoon. I used 70 gr 3FFFg and a smooth sided Prichett minnie ball. At the shot the buffalo's front half lifted off the ground. My son shot his with a 220 gr 30-06 and had no where near the reaction as mine did.

I would have no problem using a RB in .58cal for a buff, but I might up the charge to 100 grs 3fffg or a tad more.

Snow on the Roof said: