• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Civil War ballistics

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PoppyLee

Pilgrim
Reaction score
I am a graduate student in history at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green. I am appalled at the depth of ignorance I see in civil war historians regarding ballistics. I am preparing an article on "Ballistics for Civil War historians." I need some information--what is the ballistic coefficient of a round musket ball? What was the muzzle velocity of a smooth bore musket used in the Civil War? What powder charge was used in the rifle muskets?