• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Deer aren't paper bulls-eyes.

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trench

62 Cal.
Reaction score
So, I'm relatively new to trying to shoot deer with flintlocks. I took my first deer ever back in 2006 with one. The next 4 years were essentially a drought with this year being the first year I had a shot at a deer. It was frustrating to say the least. I had a shot at a doe at 60 yards yesterday morning. My elbows were rested on a log and the shot should have been easy for me and my .58. Well, my heart wanting to jump out of my throt probably didn't help, but I think I sent that ball flying over her back. That afternoon, I had almost the same thing happen minus the adrenaline on my part. Again, a doe at 60 yards. Took my time, rested elbows on a sturdy log and that ball must have been sent sailing over her back. I threw the deer hunter's equivalent of a John McEnroe fit in the woods after that. Shots that I drilled at the range shooting at a black circle just didn't translate to the field. I'm thinking about just shooting at brown paper bags from now on at the range with no "target" drawn on it. I'm not going back out in to the woods until I can get this right.

Sorry to hear this. Was everything equivalent to the range? I mean was the shot on level ground versus up or down a hill? It would be interesting to here how it shoots at the range after these two high shots.