• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Load For Humane Kill?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pete Gaimari

69 Cal.
Reaction score
Now that i've settled on the gun i'll be using for hunting big game. I'd like some opinions on loads for a .54 which I have no experience with.

My limit will be 75 yards. It's all I feel safe with for open sights.

Gun is a Renegade .54. I'll use a PRB and Goex 2F.

How much powder for a humane kill for muley deer and elk. (cow)

Thanks.

First off it must be accurate if you shoot them in the foot it doesnt matter what caliber or load you use, that being said my .54 GPR likes 100 grains of 2F goex and has been a reliable pass through on every mulie ive shot. Duane

Start with 60 grains and work up from there to find your most accurate load. My .54 has the 1:48 rate of twist and is happy at 85 grains of Goex 2F. At 100 yards that is enough to take down anything in North America providing you hit it in the right place.

I use 85 gr FFFg in my .54 flintlock rifle and it is plenty for 200 lb whitetails. As far as minimal humane? With round balls I have a rule of thumb: too much is always sufficient.

I use a "squib" load of 42 gr (one empty Colt .45 case) and squirrel/bunny hunt with that in that same .54. It would certainly kill a deer . . . eventually. Probably very well with a perfect hit. But I like to have a cushion for unforseen problems. Twigs, brain farts, unexpected deer movement, etc.