• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Load question

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jumbeaux

32 Cal.
Reaction score
This is my first year to hunt whitetail with my T/C White Mountain Carbine....I load 70 grains of Goex FFG, a bore butter .015" patch and a swaged .490 " round ball. Our season started this am and didn't see anything today...my question is: Can I leave my rifle loaded with the #11 cap removed and just recap when I go out again ?? Our season only lasts 14 days but I really don't want to fire my rifle everytime I come in....I loaded a clean bore but I have checked my point of aim in a clean bore and with a foulded bore and it is okay...need advice...

jumbeaux

Man that's a tough one. In about 1986 I suffered noboom syndrome and seen a doe levitate up a canyon wall. Since then I'm a fresh load person for hunting just for my peace of mind. On the other hand I frequently leave the hog and dog rifle loaded in the corner for a week at a time and it works just like a heathen cartridge gun.
If it was me and I was sure I had everything pin clean, I'd still probably pull the nipple and trickle a little powder in there just before setting up. Guess that one flying doe is burned into my soul.

It should be OK if the bore wasn't too oily. Having said that, I always like to fire one shot through a "clean" bore to burn out any oil. I wouldn't leave it loaded in the house tho.