• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

"modernizing" a long rifle

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tcostell

32 Cal.
Reaction score
If you all don't mind I'd like to solicit a few opinions. I'm a hobbyist builder who lacks the skill to make museum pieces, but I enjoy it, my skill is improving, and me and my family have a few moderately attractive rifles as the result of my efforts. I'm thinking about incorporating some of the 'modern' conveniences that may not be authentic period into my next project. So my question is, how much would it bother you to see something like a hooked breach in what would otherwise be a 1770's flintlock with a swamped barrel? It seems to me something like that makes cleaning a lot easier and might be worth the upturned noses of a few experts.
I guess I'm just wondering how you all feel about the importance of staying authentic to the period.

Thanks

:hmm:parson, build what makes you happy, If you want to build to be right on every detail, well find, but will this please you in the need to build. Rmember you are the person that must be pleased.

It would turn me off, but thats just me. I have no problem cleaning a long rifle. I just plug the vent and clean. Every other year or so, I pull my barrel and liberally apply paste wax to it and the barrel channel and have no problems with water.

I think too many people get hung up on this period correct stuff. Build what you like. Personally, I think a hooked breech is a terrific idea. Go for it.

JMHO
Gene