• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Muzzle UNloading

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zouaver

Pilgrim
Reaction score
Any suggestions for the best way to get a 58 caliber minie ball out of a musket?

Background: I loaded 50 grains of Pyrodex and a minie ball into a reproduction musket that has never misfired before. Three caps popped, but the gun didn't fire. (The caps were decades old, but still seem pretty lively. I have never used anything but DuPont FFG before, though. Maybe Pyrodex takes a hotter cap?)

Many years ago I tried to pull a ball with twisty pronged-type puller with no luck, but I don't even have one of those now. Suggestions? Thanks for any help you can lend.

JJ

I suggest pulling the nipple and sprinkling in some real black, reinstaaling the nipple and trying another cap! :hmm:

I would unscrew the nipple and insure that it is clear and add a little under it and screw it in and try again. If you have any real black powder add that. Geo. T.

X2
Geo T said:
I would unscrew the nipple and insure that it is clear and add a little under it and screw it in and try again. If you have any real black powder add that. Geo. T.

OK, I'll try removing the nipple and putting in some real black powder. That sounds like it should work. I'll post my results when I do it.

Thanks for your suggestions everyone! :grin:
JJ

ohio ramrod said:
I suggest pulling the nipple and sprinkling in some real black, reinstaaling the nipple and trying another cap! :hmm:
IBID