• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

My first Primitative Friction Folder

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

50cal.cliff

58 Cal.
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at a friction folder. Lets say I have learned alot from this one.
I have been making knives from an old two man saw. This piece of steel was left over after cutting about 10 blanks. they were arranged where there was little to no waste.
This piece was the only left over of any size and being the frugal (cheapie) :shocked2: that I am I decided that there had to be somthing that could be made of it! I have been wanting to do a friction folder but this might not have been the perfect candidate becasue its size and shape dictated the size and shape of the knife.
First I had to find an antler for the knife and of course there was nothing straight enough. This piece was the right shape but bowed. I boiled it in a pot for 20-30 min. threw in between two boards in my vise and begin yanking and cranking. When I could turn no more I left it for about 2-3 days to completely dry.
This is how it turned out.
000_1086.jpg

The round washers are mde from the same piece of saw steel as the blade was cut from.
000_1083.jpg

The pin that locks it out to the horn is made from a steel pin and a welding rod pins it together.
000_1087.jpg

A welding rod makes the pin at the pivot of the blade also.
000_1079.jpg