• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

ok, where do I start?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ppanepinto

32 Cal.
Reaction score
It has been a while sense I've been on, but I have been reading to post to catch up. I've got some books on order, and now I what to know where to start. I would like a .32 caliber kit to build, but I've never done this before. I thought I wanted a Sitting Fox Kit, but after reading the begainner's thread, I feel that may be something to try later on. Can anyone point me to a good begainner's kit? How are Dixie Gunwork's kits? Will this be my only kit? No, but I want to start off slow with a kit that for a lack of a better word easy to work on. Any help with what kits I should be looking at would be appreciated.

You might check out Jim Chambers kits, so far I've been very satisfied with mine, all mistakes are mine alone. The one I ordered came with a stock that was carved very close to shape, even got a bit of cast off in the butt stock. One note is I should have moved the barrel back about an 1/8", wound up getting into the breach just a bit with the vent liner.

Jim Chambers kits came highly recomended to me, but it's the only kit I've every built.

I'd also suggest a good build video, it really helped me. http://www.flintlocks.com/rifles02.htm

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi,