• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Shooting bag, R or L side?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Applejack

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I am new to this forum and this subject may have been discussed previously. If so, I apologize for the repetition.

I am a self-taught muzzleloader shooter after building a .50 cal. percussion Hawken T/C kit the winter of 1976-77. I made almost all of my accessories. My powder horn hangs from straps attached to my shooting bag shoulder strap with my patch knife paralell to the strap. I am right handed and carry the bag on my right shoulder with the bag resting on my left hip. I shoot PRB in the Hawken with FFg Goex.

In many period art work and photographs of muzzleloader shooters the majority of those pictured have their shooting bag just the opposite to mine.

Is there a correct way to carry the shooting bag? Or, were the majority of the shooters back then left handed? The way I carry mine seems the easiest and most comfortable for the way I load and carry the weapon.

i'm right handed and carry my bag on the left and my powder horn on my right, as i fill my measure from the horn in my right hand while holding my measure and rifle in my left....as i need stuff from my bag or box at the range i use my left hand anyway to git stuff also :v ..........bob

I'm right-handed... carry bag & horn on right hip - it's easier to do everything (dig in bag, pour powder, etc.) with right hand while holding gun with weak hand (left). (Like Claude said)