• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Wet weather hunting?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TLanoy

45 Cal.
Reaction score
Do any of you hunt on a mildly rainy day? If so, what steps do you take to keep your rifle dry? Here in my part of Oregon our season starts in October and it is rainy and wet during that time frame.

This is my first year muzzleloading and I'm worried about keeping my rifle dry. Do not hunt with firearms so, my knowledge is limited. I am normally a traditional bowhunter. :grin:

With cap locks I do nothing,, when in the field I use the cut off fingers of a surgical type glove (found at Pharmacies for a few bucks) to cover the muzzle.

masking tape over the muzzle. With a non-stainless steel, make sure you pull it off at the end of the day though.

We hunt a lot in heavy rain, both flinters and cappers. It takes a little forethought and precaution, but is pretty straight forward when you get into the swing of it. I'd sure pick some rainy days and make some range trips before hunting to learn the ropes and establish the good habits. Best part is, you'll have the range to yourself on rainy days! :rotf:

Electrical tape over the muzzle since it's not always possible to keep the muzzle down. Cow's knee over the lock. Folks will say just keep the lock under the flap of your raincoat, but I suspect they're sitters rather than stalkers.