• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

When to cock?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris Nolin

32 Cal.
Reaction score
This may be a silly question of minutia, but while hunting big game, when do you cock the hammer on your percussion rifle? At the very start of the hunt? Just before taking the shot?

My hunt this year is for cow elk, which I have hunted with bow and arrow as well as modern rifle. This is my first time with a traditional muzzleloader. I know they tend to be very wary, as they travel in multiples--lots of eyes and ears. At a range of less than 75 yards or so, I'm afraid the *click-click* will spook them.

Obviously, I'm starting to get excited about September, so I'm trying to think through the details.

Lapoudre said:
...while hunting big game, when do you cock the hammer on your percussion rifle? At the very start of the hunt?

Not if you're going to hunt with me or anyone I hunt with. Bad juju.

If you hold back the trigger when you pull back the hammer, then let the trigger go forward before easing up on the hammer, it's absolutely silent. Bad things can happen there if you screw it up in the heat of the moment, so it's something to practice, practice, practice between now and your hunt.

Yep, I think Brown Bear covered it. I couldn't add anything substantive to it. :thumbsup:

Ah, I never thought of that! Perfect, I'll practice that. Thanks, Brown Bear! I'm glad I asked.