• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Correct period for gun?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mikegalante

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Gentlemen,

Since I'm new to this muzzleloader thing, I'm not sure what forum my gun belongs in. What forum would be approriate for my Lyman .50 Trade Rifle in flintlock?

Thanks in advance!

Some of the production guns are kind of hard to place as they have a lot of modern influence in the style/architecture, a gun like the trade rifle would most closely fit in the 1840-1860 time frame but would probably be caplock, many use them in the late fur trade 1830-1840 when flint was still used quite a bit.

Gentlemen,

Since I'm new to this muzzleloader thing, I'm not sure what forum my gun belongs in. What forum would be approriate for my Lyman .50 Trade Rifle in flintlock?

Thanks in advance!

When in doubt, it is a flintlock, so you can always post it in there...

:sorry:

Maybe I should rephrase my question. I'm trying to figure out what time period/forum I would come under in the re-enacting forums. I hope to put a persona and outfit together and don't know where I should be as a newbie. Should I be under this forum or the plains one?

Hope that helped.

The two forums do over lap, the Lyman gun may fit better in the later period even though it is a flinter, it is difficult to place non-replicas as they are rather generic as stated before.

Bison,
welcome to the F/L forum!!!!!!
snake-eyes :) :peace: :) :thumbsup: