• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Different Flintlock "Styles"

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vic Price

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I'm looking at acquiring (or building) a flintlock rifle as others are here and I'm studying the different styles of rifles that appeal to me - so far anyway. I'm looking at the longrifle of the 1770-1800 period which typically uses a swamped barrel and I'm also looking at the Southern Mountain style which appears to typically use a straight barrel of 36-42". Are the Southern rifles fairly well balanced - at least compared to the York or Haines longrifles ?

Regards, Vic

TraderVic, from my experiences, a LR with a swamped barrel has a much better balance than a LR with the same length straight barreled. Swamped barreled rifles just seem to lay and steady on your target better. But that's my opinion.

However, I will eventually build a southern Mtn with a straight barrel because I like the look and would like to have one. :wink:

Current kits and parts sets for Southern mountain rifles have straight barrels 36-42" in length, which are typically a lot lighter than the originals, which almost never had barre;s as short as 36", and were rarely much under 15/16" in diameter. Those iron-mounted squirrel rifles weighed 9-12 pounds.

But nowadays most folks make them with barrels not so stout, to keep the weight in the 8-9 pound range, sometimes below that.