• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

misfire with percussion??

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

happyhunter

36 Cal.
Reaction score
I am new to percussion rifles and figured I need help with this one. I took my "new to me" TC Renegade to the range yesterday, and the first shot did not fire for 3 caps. I thought about it and guessed maybe the hole where the spark hits the main charge may be plugged with bore butter from when I swabbed it down the bore. I pulled the nipple and put a bit of FFFF in there and put the nipple back on. It then fired with the next cap.

So, what happened? Can bore butter clog that hole? If so how do I keep that from happening again? Is it safe to put some FFFF under the nipple? If it is safe I may do that when I take it out hunting just to ensure no misfires, is that a good idea??

Thanks!!

You shouldn't have to put any ffffg in. Most likely you did push some lube into the flash channel. This can also happen when you wipe after a shot. Moisture from a patch mixed with powder residue can also get pushed down there.