• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Pecatonica Tenn. Mtn.

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimmy82

40 Cal.
Reaction score
Well... I started out looking at their Late Lancaster or Dickert, but I am leaning more and more towards the Tenn. Mtn. rifle that they offer. Less complicated carving, which is good for me because I'm just getting started. Plus the more I look at it the more I like the lines of their finished model. However I have a few questions before I decided to lay down some cash.

They say that it is a 15-1/2" pull which is long for me. I am more around 14, I would prefer maybe even 13 to 13-1/2" to allow for heavy clothing and coats. Would it be terribly difficult to take it down a little and then just "modify" the butt plate to fit?

People who have experience with this company, do you know if I can omit the barrel from the order and get a different barrel from a different company? Looking at Rice.

This is more of a style question. For a Tenn. Mtn. Is it horribly inaccurate to have a shorter tang then the "lollipop" that comes standard? I've read in other posts that the lollipop can be difficult for people just getting starting.

I got a Tennessee mountain of Pecatonica for my second build. I think you wouldnt have a problem altering the butt plate a bit, thereby altering the pull length. Dont worry about the lolly tang its ok i found, you could consider the straight tang also on offer.