• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

What's a Smooth Rifle?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I know, I know. Probably common knowledge, but...Anyway, I had never heard the term when I started shooting MLs back in the 70s. Getting back in and looked at ads for custom guns described as Smooth Rifles. Google tells me that it is A) a long rifled gun that looks like an English fowler in some respects or B) a smooth bore gun that has the lines of a rifle. Which is it? :surrender:

BigSkyRambler said:
I know, I know. Probably common knowledge, but...Anyway, I had never heard the term when I started shooting MLs back in the 70s. Getting back in and looked at ads for custom guns described as Smooth Rifles. Google tells me that it is A) a long rifled gun that looks like an English fowler in some respects or B) a smooth bore gun that has the lines of a rifle. Which is it? :surrender:

Its a gun stocked like a rifle that has no rifling the barrel. These are documented to at least the 1750s.
Many English rifles were stocked very much like fowlers. The buttstocks and hardware was often much the same. But they are rifles just the same.

This said I believe a many surviving "smooth rifles" were originally rifled and either shot out and never freshed or bored smooth late in their service life. I have read reports of original "smooth rifles" having vestiges of rifling when bore scoped.